Treading grapes

I’m nearing the end of my first year as a Wine Production student at Plumpton College, but today was my first wine-making practical.

As a trial, we have been tasked with making wine from some table grapes. Today’s job was to tread them to crush them (yes really – seems a bit of a gimmick but there you go) and I grabbed the chance to rip my shoes off and jump in. It was SO cold! The grapes had been stored at 0C and had just arrived, and soon the scratch of the stalks on my wimpy feet was irrelevant as I went numb and lost all sensation below my ankles. Good fun though.


After adding some SO2 and some pectolytic enzymes we stuck the lot into two big white buckets (totalling 37 litres) and stuck it in the cool room.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Plumpton student stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

