Trunk disease in UK vineyards

As part of my Plumpton College degree I recently completed a set of slides on Botryosphaeria, one of the trunk diseases which has recently received some attention for causing problems in vineyards worldwide, the UK being no exception. My conclusion is weak: trunk diseases are certainly a serious issue, but their effect in many cases may be minimised with the same sound IPM practices which are used to treat other fungal pathogens, there being few approved pesticides in the UK with any direct effect.

My slides (there are only 12 of them) are here for your interest, and I’d welcome any comments. In particular I’d be interested in being made aware of additional relevant literature which I may have missed.

This entry was posted in English Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

